Readings from the book of Jeremiah

Stiftskirche Stuttgart, Prophetenstatue aus de...

The Roman Lectionary uses passages from Jeremiah on nine Sundays during the three-year cycle of readings.

As we take our leave of Jeremiah, let us take note of some of the passages most familiar to us. (Boldface mine)

 Before I formed you in the womb I knew you, before you were born I set you apart.” (1:5)

 “You deceived me, LORD, and I was deceived; you overpowered me and prevailed. I am ridiculed all day long; everyone mocks me. 8 Whenever I speak, I cry out proclaiming violence and destruction. So the word of the LORD has brought me insult and reproach all day long. 9 But if I say, ‘I will not mention his word or speak anymore in his name,’his word is in my heart like a fire, a fire shut up in my bones. I am weary of holding it in; indeed, I cannot.” (20:7-9)

The days are coming, says the LORD, when I will make a new covenant with the house of Israel and the house of Judah. … I will place my law within them, and write it upon their hearts; I will be their God, and they shall be my people.” (31:31, 33)

 

Leave a Reply

